Canna Wellness Clinics FAQs

Pricing

Are there different prices for different cannabis certifications?

No, all certifications are the same price regardless of the cannabis strength or type (smokable or edible) that is recommended.

General

Do I need to bring anything with me to my Canna Wellness Clinic appointment?

If you are a Florida resident, you need to bring your Florida ID. If you are not a Florida resident, please bring a copy of at least two of the following:

  • A deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental lease agreement in the state of Florida.
  • Proof of residential address from your parent, step-parent or legal guardian with whom you reside with in Florida, and a statement of residency from the person you reside with.
  • A Florida state utility hookup or work order dated within 60 days of registration to the medical use registry.
  • A Florida state utility bill that is no older than two months.
  • Mail from a financial institution to your Florida address.This mail can include checking, savings or investment account statements that are not more than two months old.
  • Mail from a federal, state, county or municipal government agency to your Florida address that is not older than two months old.

What is the Medical Marijuana Use Registry?

The Medical Marijuana Use Registry is a secure online database for the registration of ordering physicians and qualified patients. It is accessible to ordering physicians, law enforcement, dispensing organization staff, and the Office of Medical Marijuana Use staff.

Once you’ve been approved by a qualified physician, he/she will enter your patient information into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. After this has been done, you are able to apply for a Medical Marijuana ID card.

How often do I have to see my doctor?

Your recommending doctor can write an order for 70 days of cannabis with 3 refills. Many doctors will refill without an in-person visit. Once the 3 refills have been completed (210 days) you will need an in-office visit with your doctor for another renewal.

Once I have my Medical Marijuana ID card, where can I buy marijuana?

Once your application is approved and you receive your legal marijuana card, you or a legal representative will be able to buy cannabis products from a licensed medical marijuana treatment center (MMTC) in the state of Florida.

Can I grow cannabis if I have a Medical Marijuana ID card?

No. Florida law only allows the licensed dispensing organizations to grow, process and dispense marijuana. The department will refer any business or individual suspected of violating state law to local law enforcement for investigation. It is important to remember that marijuana is illegal under federal law.

What do I need to do if I change my address or other information changes?

Requests to replace a lost or stolen card will require the cardholder to submit a Change, Replacement or Surrender Request Form, along with a copy of his or her Florida driver’s license or identification card and a $15 replacement fee.

Is Medical Cannabis Covered by Insurance?

No.

Medical Marijuana Card

What is a Medical Marijuana ID Card?

The Medical Marijuana ID card is a state-issued identification card that enables qualifying patients to obtain medical marijuana from licensed dispensaries in Florida.

How do I apply for a Medical Marijuana ID Card?

Once a doctor is selected, patients and their caregivers will be entered into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by their qualified physician, who will provide them with an ID number

Using that ID number, patients will need to apply for their registry identification card online—to apply for a card, the patients and/or legal representatives must submit an application to The Department of Health’s Medical Marijuana Use Registry. This simple one-page application must include a passport photo and can be submitted in one of two ways:

  • Online application through the Medical Marijuana Use Registry
  • Mailed hard copy to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use: PO Box 31313 Tampa, FL 3363

All applications must include a State registration fee of $75.

Upon approval, the patient or legal representative will receive their ID card in the mail from the Office of Medical Marijuana Use. This is required for patients to fill their order at a Florida medical marijuana dispensary.

Once the application is approved, you can fill your order at a nearby licensed medical marijuana treatment center (MMTC).

If there are no local treatment centers in your city, patients can still fill their orders by contacting a medical marijuana treatment center and arrange for a delivery.

How Much Does a Medical Marijuana ID card cost?

$75 – The Department accepts applications from patients and legal representatives. Patients must be entered into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by a qualified physician to receive a card. Applications may be submitted online through the Medical Marijuana Use Registry or mailed to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use.

How long does it take to receive your Medical Marijuana ID card?

If you are receiving your card through email, it will arrive in about 5 business days. If you are receiving your card through mail, it will arrive in about 2 weeks.

How long is a FL marijuana card good for?

1 Year, but recertification happens every 210 days. This means you must get recertified for your Medical Marijuana card by a medical marijuana doctor every 210 days, and if you still qualify, he or she will give you the recommendation to renew it before your card expires.

Where can I buy medical cannabis with my Medical Marijuana ID card?

You can visit our list of medical dispensaries in Florida here.

How do I get my Medical Marijuana ID card renewed?

To maintain an active Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card, a patient and/or legal representative must annually submit a renewal application, along with the application fee and any required accompanying documents to the department forty-five (45) days prior to the card expiration date.